Need advice about digital drawing.

Discuss the creative works of various art forms, or post your artwork for critique.

Need advice about digital drawing.

Postby spiritmoon » Fri Jan 15, 2016 5:16 pm

Hey people of the Eldemore world! I love drawing, and Im sort of good at hand drawing (pencil and paper) but I want to go digital...
The only problem is... I'm not very good at technology.
I've looked at a ton of different websites and items.
Now, I'm sure theres already a thread like this out there but.... I just really don't know what to do.

I've heard about tablets (Like an I-pad but made for digital drawing) but I don't have to slightest idea how to use one or how to get it started...

Also, I've seen stuff about deviant art and all that stuff. Again, I don't know how to use it or what to do O.O...

Oh ^.^' And... the products sort of have to be within a good price range. Seeing as I'm still in school and relying on my parents to get me such items.

Anyway, thanks for reading!
~spirit

spiritmoon

Re: Need advice about digital drawing.

Postby Sphye » Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:55 pm

Hi, Spiritmoon!~ ^v^
Having a drawing tablet is incredibly helpful for digital art. When using a mouse, not only is your range of motion more limited, but you can't use pen sensitivity to alter your brush strokes. Having a tablet allows you to use the same motions as you would use for traditional drawing, which makes anything except, perhaps, a straight line far easier. It also allows you to control the thickness of your lines within a single stroke based on how softly your press the pen.
Wacom tablets are the most well-known brand of drawing tablets. My own is a Wacom Bamboo Splash tablet. It's not super fancy, but it's effective nonetheless. It doesn't appear to be on the Wacom website anymore, but several other models of tablet can be found there instead.