Cavities

A place to chat and discuss anything outside of Eldemore.

Cavities

Postby Spookly » Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:34 pm

Hello all you sweet eaters and late night snackers
I recently had a visit to the dentist and they found a very small cavity in between my teeth
This is my first time getting a cavity so I'm pretty scared
Would anyone like to share experiences ?
~~~ TBF
Spookly

Re: Cavities

Postby Vyntage. » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:01 am

As someone who's had easily over twenty cavities, I can tell you it is scary at first but there's really nothing to it. And I've gotten so many cavities from poor dental hygiene as a child because no one taught me to brush my teeth properly. Once I learned, there was already irreparable damage done. I have thin enamel and all that fun stuff that makes it super easy for me to get cavities.

If you have a small cavity between your teeth, it won't be hard to fix at all. When I go in for a cavity fill, they are usually courteous and allow me to breathe and take my own time. When I was a kid they gave me nitrous oxide (laughing gas) and a bit of Novocaine before sticking the needle in. Once I was an adult, they forewent the nitrous oxide and just applied a little Novacaine before injecting the gum. I always thought it felt like the needle was going into my cheek, but it isn't. They often stick in once to inject, pull out some and move it slightly to the side before pressing in and injecting a little more. It's over pretty quickly and once that's done, they leave you alone for a little while until you're good and numb.

I used to stall them by saying I wasn't numb enough. XD I've also had times where the numbing wore off. They asked if I was in pain, I nodded and they gave me another shot. If they're good dentists they'll take care of you just fine.
Vyntage.

Postby Spear » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:36 am

Vodevil wrote: