Critique Wanted! | Digital Art

Discuss the creative works of various art forms, or post your artwork for critique.

Critique Wanted! | Digital Art

Postby carmel » Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:13 pm

Hey everyone!
This is my first attempt at realism with digital art, so I was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on how I could improve? Maybe some tips or any brush packs you might recommend would help me greatly, as well as critique on the drawing itself or the anatomy c:

I tried to go for a realistic 'painting' look with it but I wasn't exactly sure how. I was limited to only four brushes that gave the piece that painting feel so xD

Thanks so much!
carmel

Re: Critique Wanted! | Digital Art

Postby ιηƒιηιтє. » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:32 pm

Hey there Tweedie! c:

I am by no means an expert in realism, or in drawing horses, and style should also be factored in, but here are some things I can comment on:

First, a way to make a digital piece more "realistic" is to consistently use one type of brush for a piece. While size may change, changes in blending, density, etc. might make the piece seem more inorganic and fabricated, as oftentimes differing saturations and textures are a lot harder to achieve with more traditional mediums. c:

Another way is to utilise more hard shading and contrast. I'm not entirely sure what specific traditional medium you were going for, but oftentimes it is a lot harder to blend in most traditional mediums than it is digitally, although with time and experience I'm sure it's possible in all of them. However, higher contrast would be able to bring out the textures in your peace and remove any worry of an overly blended piece, even if it is blended perfectly. c: